European Pulsar Timing Array Meeting

November 12 - 14, 2018

  Bielefeld University, Lecture Hall X-E0-234


Preliminary Programme



Each talk is supposed to last 12+3 minutes, except for the telescope updates and the talks in the international PTA session.


Monday, November 12, 2018

10:00 - 10:30

coffee, welcome, news

10:30 - 11:15

Telescope updates (chair: Cees Bassa)
Gemma Janssen [WSRT]
Ben Perera [JBO]
Julian Donner [LOFAR]
Lucas Guillemot [NRT]
Marta Burgay [SRT]
David Champion [Effelsberg]

11:15 - 11:45

LEAP (chair: Delphine Perrodin)
Kuo Liu: Update from the LEAP working group
Lin Wang: Giant pulse study on PSR B1821-24A with LEAP

11:45 - 13:00

First discussion session on research groups (speakers: the group leaders)

13:00 - 14:15

lunch break

14:15 - 15:00

DA (chair: Lin Wang)
Siyuan Chen: DA update
Nicolas Caballero: Digging deeper into the effects of the Solar-system ephemerides on Pulsar Timing Arrays
Siyuan Chen:Re-analyzing the EPTA DR1 + more with enterprise

15:00 - 15:30

coffee break

15:30 - 17:00

Second discussion session (chaired by Joris Verbiest)
DC2 practicalities discussion [who is involved in the DC2 is supposed to attend, the others can decide if to attend or not]

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

  9:00 -  10:30

Third discussion session (chaired by Andrea Possenti)
IPTA generalities and documents

10:30 - 11:00

coffee break

11:00 - 12:15

Timing (chair: Antoine Petiteau)
Jun Wang: Fundamental improvement to pulsar timing
Ann-Sofie Bak Nielsen: Three stable black widows
Gregory Desvignes,
Ben Shaw: PulChron: A pulsar timescale demonstration for the European Space Agency
Xiaojing Liu: Correlated noise and frequency second derivative in precision pulsar timing

12:15 - 13:00

International PTAs (chair: Emma van der Wateren)
Krishnakumar Moochickal Ambalappat: Briefing the InPTA
Tim Pennucci: Recent and Upcoming Datasets from NANOGrav
Ben Perera: IPTA DR2 status
(Nicolas Caballero?)

13:00 - 14:00

lunch break

14:00 - 15:15

Fourth discussion session (chaired by Michael Kramer)
Roadmap to detection

15:15 - 15:45

coffee break

15:45 - 17:00

IISM (chair: Lorenz Haase)
Tim Pennucci: Estimation of Scattering and Refractive Delays in Wideband Pulsar Observations
Alessandro Corongiu: Contributes to IISM projects by observations with the Sardinia Radio Telescope
Golam Shaifullah: 8 years of DM and RM from PuMall
Krishnakumar Moochickal Ambalappat: Scattering in pulsars at low frequencies
Julian Donner: LOFAR dispersion measure monitoring for MSPs


social dinner at Nichtschwimmer

Menu Nichtschwimmer

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

  9:00 - 10:30

Fifth discussion session (chaired by Andrea Possenti)
IPTA summary and finalisation of the IPTA documents

10:30 - 10:45

Final announcements by Joris Verbiest

10:45 - 11:15

coffee break

11:45 - end

DA/Timing workshop